Access to content

Para rowing

Danny McBride of New Zealand

Para rowing made its debut at the Paralympic Games in Beijing in 2008 with 1,000m events. From Tokyo 2020 onwards, events will be competed across 2,000m – the same distance as for the Olympic equivalent. This longer distance means more effort, greater endurance and heightened emotions.  

Three types of rowing events are contested at the Paralympic Games, two of which mixed, where athletes complete a oneway course in a straight line. Single and double sculls are equipped with fixed seats for the rowers.   

Brief overview of the rules 

The rules are almost identical to those of the Olympic rowing event. There are three types of boat:  

– PR1 single sculls (for individual men and women): reserved for rowers without trunk or leg function using two oars. These athletes have strapping around their mid-section to provide support and keep their balance. 

– PR2 double sculls (mixed): a team of two rowers – a man and a woman – each of whom has two oars. 

– PR3 coxed four (mixed): a team of four rowers – two women and two men – and a coxswain, each rower using one oar, right or left. 

Eligible impairments 

Orthopaedic impairments, paraplegia, quadriplegia, hemiplegia, cerebral palsy, neurological disabilities and vision impairments. 

International federation  

World Rowing (FISA): 

© Hannah Peters/Getty Images