Access to content

Wheelchair tennis

Une joueuse de tennis fauteuil japonaise réalise son service

Invented in 1976, and first contested at the Barcelona Paralympic Games in 1992, wheelchair tennis is an especially popular sport. Wheelchair tennis is played at all four Grand Slam tournaments. The ITF Wheelchair Tennis Tour now includes over 150 events. The International Tennis Federation maintains different rankings, including the UNIQLO Wheelchair Tennis Rankings. 

Controlling the wheelchair is an essential skill for Paralympic tennis players, who must quickly turn it around a point to get in position to return the ball and cover the entire court. 

Brief overview of the rules 

Wheelchair tennis follows the rules of able-bodied tennis with one key exception: the ball is allowed to bounce twice before the player hits it back. 

Athletes are divided into two categories: the ‘Open’ Class is for athletes with permanent impairment of one or both legs, but with normal arm function, and the ‘Quad’ Class is for athletes with additional restrictions in the playing arm, which limits the ability to handle the racquet and manoeuvre the wheelchair. 

Eligible impairments 

Paraplegia, quadriplegia and equivalent, lower limb competing with prosthesis and equivalent, physical disabilities limiting movement. 

Events in 2024

  • Singles (women’s, men’s)
  • Doubles (women’s, men’s)
  • Singles quad (mixed)
  • Doubles quad (mixed)

Venue in 2024

Roland-Garros Stadium

International federation 

International Tennis Federation (ITF): 

© Raphael Dias/Getty Images