The Stade Yves-du-Manoir is a highly functional sports venue continuing its legacy as the Olympic Stadium of the Paris 1924 Olympic Games.
The Stade Yves-du-Manoir is one of the most iconic stadia in France, having welcomed the world as the premier venue of the Paris 1924 Olympic Games. It is situated in Colombes, north-west of Paris, and is named in memory of French rugby player Yves du Manoir.
Upon its designation as the main site for the Games of the VIII Olympiad, architect Louis Faurre-Dujarric was appointed to design the stadium, which served as the French capital’s largest venue until the completion of Parc des Princes (Football venue) in 1972.
The area surrounding the stadium has been dedicated to the practice of sport since the late 19th century. A multipurpose venue from the very beginning, the Stade Yves-du-Manoir has since accommodated numerous national and international athletics, rugby and football competitions. It has been renovated regularly through the years. Including its surrounding area, the sports complex covers a total of 24 hectares that features a secondary stadium and additional playing fields that are available for community use.
The Stade Yves-du-Manoir will host Hockey competitions for the Olympic Games.
Since its inception in 1924, the Stade Yves-du-Manoir has hosted a number of international events, including:
1924 Games of the VIII Olympiad
1938 FIFA World Cup
1938 European Athletics Championships.
Following the Olympic Games, the Stade Yves-du-Manoir will house the headquarters and become the high performance training centre of the French Hockey Federation and resume its role as a sports complex open to the community.